The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards Nominations


Awards Logo

Awards Logo

On May 7th , 2012, The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards nominations were announced at the prestigious Lambs Club in midtown Manhattan.

The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards were established in 1982. Formerly known as The Astaire Awards, it recognizes outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway each season. The award was established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931.

Liza Minnelli

Liza Minnelli

This year the 30thAnnual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards will honor legendary entertainer Liza Minnelli with its

Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at New York University on June 4th at 7:30pm. Liza Minnelli is the winner of multiple Tony Awards, an Oscar, a special “Legends” Grammy, two Golden Globe Awards and an Emmy and is one of the entertainment world’s consummate performers.

This year’s awards ceremony will also be dedicated to Tony and Oscar-winning producer Marty Richards. Also look for a new tradition, paying tribute to the career and work of a choreographer and dancer during the awards. They will be remembering Bob Fosse and Gwen Verdon, with a few signature Bob Fosse numbers featuring current Broadway performers.
Notable attendees at the celebration included Matthew Broderick and co-star Kelli O’Hara from Nice Work If You Can Get It, Tony Nominated Director and Actor Lee Roy Reams, President of the Fred Astaire Award Patricia Watt, Director Albert Maysles, Dancer Marge Champion, Ryan Bresling of Newsies, Evita’s Bahiyah Hibah, Newsies Choreographer Chirstopher Gattelli, nominee Robert Hartwell from Nice Work If You Can Get It, Lysistrata’s Jones Jason Tam and Patti Murin, Porgy & Bess Choeographer Ron Brown, Leap of Faith’s Leslie Odom, Jr. and Krystal Joy Brown, Alchimia’s Ed Callaghan, nominee Lisa Nicole Wilkerson of Porgy & Bess, Executive Director of New York City Dance Alliance Joe Lanteri among many others.
Nominations List

Nominations List

The 2012 nominees are as follows:

Outstanding Female Dancer:

Elena Roger (Evita)
Kara Lindsay (Newsies)
Kelli O’Hara (Nice Work if You Can Get it)
Patti Murin (Lysistrata Jones)
Krystal Joy Brown (Leap of Faith)
Jan Maxwell (Follies)
Lisa Nicole Wilkerson (Porgy & Bess)
Ashley Amber (Evita)
Bahiyah Hibah (Evita)


Outstanding Male Dancer:
Ricky Martin (Evita)
Ryan Steele (Newsies)
Jason Tam (Lysistrata Jones)
Robert Hartwell (Nice Work)
Mathew Broderick (Nice Work if You Can Get it)
Jeremy Jordan (Newsies)
Leslie Odom, Jr. (Leap of Faith)
Thayne Jasperson (Newsies)
Ryan Breslin (Newsies)
Danny Burstein (Follies)
Hugh Jackman (Back on Broadway)
Ephraim Sykes (Newsies)

Outstanding Broadway Choreographers:

Sergio Trujillo, (Leap of Faith)
Kathleen Marshall, (Nice Work If You Can Get It)
Rob Ashford (Evita)
Christopher Gattelli (Newsies)
Steve Hoggett (Once)
Ron Brown (Porgy & Bess)

Feature Films/Fictional:

The Artist
Musical Chairs
Damsels in Distress
W.E. (
Joffrey: Mavericks of American Dance
First Position
Check Your Body at the Door
Never Stand Still
For more information on The Astaire Awards, visit

The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards

The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards




  1. I savor, result in I found exactly what I was taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  2. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  3. salutations from over the sea. detailed article I must return for more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: